Back to Marketing Basics: Part II

Create a very specific marketing message about who you help and their challenges

I created this “Back to Marketing Basics” series to help give you greater clarity with your marketing (and business in general). Please read Part I before you read Part II. It’ll just make more sense that way. 🙂

I can’t stress how important creating messages about how you help potential clients is. I’ve seen many professionals and companies talk about themselves, what they can do, their education, etc. but forget that it’s really all about their client.

Your client wants to know what you can do for them. In order to help your potential client, you need to talk to them about what’s bothering them, what’s holding them back, what they want, where their pain is (literally or figuratively). ie. when I first meet with potential clients, I often start off by asking them what their biggest problem is. (in business, that is!) Then we discuss how I can help solve that problem.

When doing this, the format should always be “problem – solution”.

Your assignment this month is to answer these questions:

1. What are your potential clients’ biggest problems?
2. How can you help them? (or what can you do to solve these problems)

For an example of how to use your answers to these questions look at my homepage. You’ll see I’ve put my client’s problems right up front and centre, and just below that are my solutions. This is just one way you could do it; there are many more.

Leave a Reply

